Category Archives: Gennady Golovkin vs Canelo Álvarez

Gennady Golovkin vs Canelo Álvarez: Biggest Fight of the year No ratings yet.

Gennady Golovkin vs Canelo Álvarez Biggest Fight of the year. Gennady Golovkin vs Canelo Álvarez Fight Card live stream online from Las Vegas.

LAS VEGAS – Hall of Famer Don Chargin has been a fixture on the boxing scene as a promoter and matchmaker for an incredible 66 years and he’s been a fan of the sport for most of his 89 years.

He’s lived through the golden eras of Joe Louis and Sugar Ray Robinson, Muhammad Ali and Joe Frazier, Sugar Ray Leonard and Roberto Duran, and he’s still actively promoting fights in Northern California. He’s the definition of a living legend.

So you should believe Chargin, once described as “maybe the last gentleman promoter left in boxing,” when he says that he’s more psyched up about tonight’s highly anticipated Canelo Alvarez-Gennady Golovkin middleweight title unification bout at T-Mobile Arena (HBO pay-per-view, 8 p.m. ET) than any fight in years.

“It takes a lot in a fight to get me excited,” says Chargin, “but this one, I tell you, I haven’t thought about a fight like this one in years. This one reminds me of waiting for the trilogy of (Carmen) Basilio and (Sugar Ray) Robinson. That’s how important this fight is to me.”

One key factor, says Chargin, and something people don’t always think about, is the powerful urge to win for both fighters.

Gennady Golovkin vs Canelo Álvarez

Gennady Golovkin vs Canelo Álvarez Fight Preview

Today (Saturday, September 16th) is the day we finally see two of boxing’s best go head-to-head. Reigning WBA, IBF, and WBC middleweight champion Gennady Golovkin (37-0, 33 KOs) is putting his titles on the line against Mexican sensation Canelo Alvarez (49-1-1, 34 KOs), who’s actually the lineal champ based off of his 2015 win over Miguel Cotto. This fight isn’t going to reach Mayweather vs. McGregor or Mayweather vs. Pacquiao numbers, but it is expected to be a blockbuster pay-per-view event, and both Canelo and GGG will come away with eight-figure paydays.

One thing that is different about Canelo vs. GGG compared to most other pay-per-view broadcasts is the start time. Boxing PPVs normally kick off at 9:00 PM ET/6:00 PM PT, but this one is an hour earlier to accommodate East Coast fans who don’t want to stay up too late to watch the main event. Canelo vs GGG Fight Preview.

Preliminary card start time (Youtube): 6:00 PM ET/3:00 PM PT

Pay-per-view start time: 8:00 PM ET/5:00 PM PT

Canelo vs. GGG start time estimate: 10:50 PM ET/7:50 PM PT

TV Network: HBO has the rights to the pay-per-view in the US. The cost is $69.95 in standard-definition and $79.95 for high-definition. In the UK, Box Nation subscribers can watch the fight at no additional cost, but non-subscribers can purchase the bout for £16.95. Televisa and TV Azteca will carry the fight in Mexico. International listings can be seen below.

Please be advised that the start time may also be dependent on the results of the three undercard fights, which all have a decent chance of going the distance. But if everything goes according to plan, we should see ring walks at no later than 11:00 PM ET.

Who’s the favourite?

Golovkin is the favourite but the odds are significantly closer than when the fight was announced.

They should be even closer by fight night with Daniel Jacobs’ success in his defeat vs GGG last time out leading many to believe Canelo is catching the fearsome Kazakh at the right time.

Odds

11/8

Saul ‘Canelo’ Alvarez

22/1

Draw

4/7

Gennady ‘GGG’ Golovkin

Who’s on the undercard?

Randy Caballero battles Diego De La Hoya for the NABF Super Bantamweight title, Joseph Diaz fights Jorge Lara and Ryan Martin fights Francisco Rojo for the WBA Inter-Continental Lightweight and WBC Continental Americas Lightweight titles.

Please rate this